top of page

Activity: Museum


For this weeks activity I decided to visit LACMA. Although I took many photos I decided to stick to the art piece that was from the same country. I decided to compare two pieces of work that was from Japan.

The first sculpture that caught my attention is the Bishamonten: Guardian King of the North. The reason why I chose this sculpture is because I realized that this was made out of wood. I was surprised that most sculptures made around the 10th century mainly involved wood.

The second piece that had caught my attention was the Haniwa Horse. I was surprised because this one, although it somewhat looked like wood, was actually made out of a type of clay. These two sculpture caught my attention because of the different style. The Guardian King of the North looks more jagged and rough, and since this sculpture is made to ward off evil spirits it does make sense. But the Haniwa Horse statues were kept by the elite but looks smooth and neutral. For some reason, these two were some of the few that had caught my attention, but I believe these caught my attention because the back ground story of theses statues were very interesting, especially the Guardian King because it involves spirits and such.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page